Church Life Part 444

579049_10200140515262328_471847878_n

Life.

Never am I more convinced in the goodness of humanity than in December bearing witness to what goes on in the church in which I work. As the Finance Manager, I am often the only person who is privileged and charged with keeping private, the special offerings people make in the name of a loved one or as a special intention. They are heart warming, but my favorite of all donations are the ones that come from the people I know have very little to offer.

This morning I got to be the recipient of an unmarked envelope filled with crumpled dollar bills and assorted coins. The simple direction given in broken English, “for the church”. I nearly burst into tears, but I calmly offered a hug and the largest thank you smile I was capable of. I know in my heart that this person saved all year to give this offering. I asked his name in order to give him tax credit but he wanted no part of it. God will surely give the credit where it’s due, this much I do know.

On the other side of my office door, a florist has arrived with huge plants and some beautiful wind chimes. The phone has rung off the hook with calls inquiring about a funeral taking place here this evening. Five days before Christmas a family will celebrate the life of their 27-year-old son. (I cannot begin to even imagine how I would cope with this. I have a 27 year old. It hits too close to home.)

Still in all I am witnessing the people of this church, come together in multiple capacities. One lady has called repeatedly asking for telephone numbers as she is trying to find someone to be a house sitter for the family; another has just dropped off food for the dinner they will have here this evening; another will be offering a prayer; another will play during the service; five ladies have offered to be receptionists this afternoon as people come to pay their respects; another lady just called to have me check to see if we have sugar for the coffee cart; another has arrived with linen table cloths for the dinner tables this evening…it goes on and on.

A reminder that it’s Christmas week and each of these people surely have other things they were planning to attend to, yet they’ve stopped their respective worlds in order to come together for their friends. It’s beautiful to witness.

I’ve spoken to the Pastor and I can hear the contemplation in his voice. Ahead him lies the daunting task of aiding and comforting the family of this young man; performing a service I am certain he wasn’t prepared to have to do so soon. Bless his heart, he isn’t that much older than the deceased. He’s at home trying to work on multiple things, yet I know where his heart is right now. It can’t be anywhere else.

I came in this morning not feeling my best self. I’ve spread myself too thin over the past months. Last week I catered three separate times in addition to being here and also working another part-time job. I haven’t finished my own Christmas shopping OR decorating; I’ve been stressing out over strained relationships; we’re still trying to close on the sale of my mother-in-law’s home and our car seems to be dying a slow death. Many times I struggle over whether I should keep my church job or move on to something full-time with benefits. I absolutely don’t make enough money here and there are no benefits.

Yet.

There.

Are.

Benefits.

Today I get to sit squarely in the middle of the warmth of God’s love and I get to drink in the love being shared in this building as I continue to field phone calls and answer doors to receive flowers.

Thank you, God, for placing me where you would have me today.

I think I’ll stay a while longer.

 


 

From The Angels:

divine-timing Divine Timing: Change can be fast, yet keep in mind the importance of patience and Divine timing, developing a trust in the unseen mysteries of spirit working in your life.

The more that you can approach your own shifting with loving kindness, the smoother your road of change will be. On some days it may still feel like a roller coaster ride, yet your self-love can help you to have the necessary steadiness within.

Pay close attention to doors that are open to you. As you continue the journey of rediscovering your Divine nature, angels surround you with their love and blessings.

surrender-release Surrender & Release: If we could see the miracle in letting go our whole life would change. Let go, allow God and the angels to help you.

When we willingly release and begin the process of healing from the unhappy situation, we may find we gain the necessary clarity that was not apparent to us before. In having gained clarity individuals often regain their own self-determination and strength.

The angels ask you to try not to control the outcome of your troubling situation. It can take a lot of courage to let go and trust in the decision to do so but It may also be one of the most valuable decisions we can ever make. Let go, and let God help you!

image Healing: The highest purpose of your healer guides is to restore your self-awareness and self-esteem as children of God and help you accept the love and unlimited blessings that God grants you.

Opening your heart and mind to your worthiness is the best healing of all.


 

holyspirit-249x300

There but by the grace of God, Go I.

One thought on “Church Life Part 444

Leave a Reply

